Alistair MacLeod Prize for Short Fiction

Established in 2015, the Alistair MacLeod Prize for Short Fiction was created in honor of Alistair MacLeod (1936-2014), Atlantic literary icon and master of the short story. Given that there are many excellent collections of short stories published in Atlantic Canada each year, creating this unique award both recognizes the importance of this genre and hopefully will encourage the creation of more work in this area.

An Officer of the Order of Canada, Alistair MacLeod, brought the strength and beauty of Cape Breton’s geography, history and its people to the world with his lyrical and powerful short fiction and one novel – No Great Mischief (1999), described as a “masterpiece” and winner of several major literary awards. It was also voted Atlantic Canada’s greatest book of all time. MacLeod’s works are polished gems in the literary landscape of Canada and have been translated into 17 languages.

Award Criteria

The Author

Authors must be either native or resident Atlantic Canadians. We define a “Native” as
someone who was born and lived for a substantial portion of his or her life in Atlantic
Canada (Newfoundland, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia or Prince Edward Island). We
define a “Resident” as a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant who has lived in the
region for at least two out of the five years immediately prior to the entry deadline.

The Book

  1. Book must be a collection of short fiction in English by a single author.
  2. Volumes that include novellas and short stories are eligible.
  3. Volumes that mix fiction with non-fiction and/or poetry are not eligible.
  4. Co-authored or multi-authored books are not eligible.
  5. Volumes of works that have previously appeared in book form are not eligible (ie, an
    author’s collected or selected stories).
  6. Edited anthologies are not eligible.
  7. Books written for children are not eligible.
  8. Only first editions are eligible. Later editions, revisions and reprints are not eligible.
  9. Book must be at least 49 pages in length, professionally published and available for
  10. Aside from excellence in writing, books must reflect professional editing and production
  11. Books that exist in electronic format only are not eligible.
  12. Translations from other languages into English are eligible if all other criteria are met.

The Submission (Submission forms available here)

  1. For the 2018 prize, books must have been published between November 15, 2016 and
    November 10, 2017.
  2. Books must be submitted no later than November 10, 2017.
  3. Submissions must include four copies of each title.
  4. A non-refundable submission fee of $20 for each title must accompany entries.