Dartmouth Book Awards (Fiction and Non-fiction)

Call for Submissions – 2018 Dartmouth Book Awards

The Dartmouth Book Awards Steering Committee is pleased to offer two prizes of $2,500 each to honor books published in 2017 which have contributed the most to the enjoyment and understanding of Nova Scotia and its people. One prize will go to the author of a work of fiction, the other to the author of a work of non-fiction.  Publishers with eligible titles are asked to submit 4 copies along with a completed submission form.  The entry fee is 20.00 per title (cheques made payable to the Dartmouth Book Awards). Please read the eligibility criteria before submitting titles.

​The deadline for receipt is Friday, November 10, 2017.  A panel of judges, made up of library representatives and community members, will choose the finalists. Finalist titles will be announced in April 2018. Winners of the awards will be announced at an awards ceremony later in May 2018.

NOTE:  Only shortlisted authors will be notified once selections are made.

Previous recipients include: George Elliott Clarke, Paul Erickson, Jonathan Campbell, Harry Bruce, Claude Bissell, Budge Wilson, Harry Thurston, Donna Smyth, Kim Atwood, Silver Donald Cameron, Robert MacNeil, Sally Ross, Alphonse Deaveau, Marq de Villiers, Keith McLaren, Stephen Kimber, Laura M. MacDonald and Elizabeth Pacey. Two-time award winners include Linda Little, Lesley Choyce, Leo McKay Jr., and Beatrice MacNeil.