2022 Atlantic Book Awards Winners

The winners of the 2022 Atlantic Book Awards are:

  • Alistair MacLeod Prize for Short Fiction

David Huebert, Chemical Valley (Biblioasis) 

  • Ann Connor Brimer Award for Atlantic Canadian Children’s Literature

Chad Lucas, Thanks a Lot, Universe (Amulet Books) 

  • APMA Best Atlantic-Published Book Award

Goose Lane Editions with The Rooms Corporation, Future Possible: An Art History of Newfoundland and Labrador by Mireille Eagan 

  • Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing

Ardath Whynacht, Insurgent Love: Abolition and Domestic Homicide (Fernwood Publishing)

  • J. M. Abraham Atlantic Poetry Award

Alyda Faber, Poisonous if Eaten Raw (Goose Lane Editions)

  • Lillian Shepherd Memorial Award for Excellence in Illustration

Alea Marley, This is Ruby, written by Sara O’Leary (Tundra)

  • Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award

Michelle Butler Hallett, Constant Nobody (Goose Lane Editions) 

Winners of the 2022 Nova Scotia Book Awards are:

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award (Non-Fiction)

Joanne Gallant, A Womb in the Shape of a Heart: My Story of Miscarriage and Motherhood (Nimbus Publishing)

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award (Fiction)

Colin Sweets Arsenault, Short Mercy (Pottersfield Press)  

George Borden Writing for Change Award

Glen Canning (with Susan McClelland), My Daughter Rehtaeh Parsons (Goose Lane Editions)

Robbie Robertson Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction)

Sharon Robart-Johnson, Jude and Diana (Fernwood Publishing)  

Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award

Stephen Kimber, Alexa!: Changing the Face of Canadian Politics (Goose Lane Editions)