04 Oct

Call for Submissions: 2023 Atlantic Book Awards & Nova Scotia Book Awards

We’re pleased to announce that Submissions for the 2023 Atlantic Book Awards and Nova Scotia Book Awards are open.

This includes: 

Atlantic Book Awards

  • Alistair MacLeod Prize for Short Fiction 
  • Ann Connor Brimer Award for Atlantic Canadian Children’s Literature 
  • Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing 
  • Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association Best Atlantic-Published Book Award 
  • J. M. Abraham Atlantic Poetry Award 
  • Senator Don Oliver Young Black Voices Book Prize (new this year!)
  • Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award 

Nova Scotia Book Awards 

  • Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction 
  • Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award 
  • George Borden Writing for Change Award 
  • Margaret and John Savage First Book Awards (fiction and nonfiction)
  • Maxine Tynes Nova Scotia Poetry Award   

Please see our awards section for submission guidelines and criteria for each award. Be sure to check the eligibility requirements for each award as they vary from prize to prize. 

The submission deadline is November 1, 2022.
(With the exception of the APMA Best-Atlantic Published Book Award for which the deadline is November 30, 2022.) 

 See more at https://atlanticbookawards.ca/awards/

The Atlantic Book Awards are administered by the Atlantic Book Awards Society, the Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association, and the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia. The Nova Scotia Book Awards are administered by the Dartmouth Book Awards and the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia.