2014 Atlantic Book Awards Winners

The eleven award-winning books, publishers and authors/illustrators are:

1. Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature: Nix Minus One, by Jill MacLean, published by Pajama Press

2. Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association’s Best Atlantic-Published Book Award, Sponsored by Friesens Corporation: Acorn Press for Ni’n na L’nu: The Mi’kmaq of Prince Edward Island by Jesse Francis and A.J.B. Johnston

3. Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing, Sponsored by Marquis Book Printing: Black Loyalists: Southern Settlers of Nova Scotia’s First Free Black Communities by Ruth Holmes Whitehead, published by Nimbus Publishing

4. Dartmouth Book Award for Non-fiction in Memory of Robbie Robertson Presented by the Kiwanis Club of Dartmouth: Scapegoat: the extraordinary legal proceedings following the 1917 Halifax Explosion by Joel Zemel, published by New World Publishing

5. Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing: The August Gales: The Tragic Loss of Fishing Schooners in the North Atlantic, 1926 and 1927, by Gerald Hallowell, published by Nimbus Publishing

6. Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction), presented by Boyne Clarke: Fallsy Downsies, by Stephanie Domet, published by Invisible Publishing

7. Lillian Shepherd Award for Excellence in Illustration: Susan Tooke for Lasso the Wind: Aurélia’s Verses and Other Poems, written by George Elliott Clarke, published by Nimbus Publishing

8. Margaret and John Savage First Book Award, Sponsored by Collins Barrow, Weed Man and the Savage Family: Turn Us Again by Charlotte R. Mendel, published by Roseway Publishing

9. PEI Book Award – Fiction (part of the Prince Edward Island Book Awards): Riptides: New Island Fiction, edited by Richard Lemm, published by Acorn Press

10. PEI Book Award – Non-Fiction (part of the Prince Edward Island Book Awards): Ni’n na L’nu: The Mi’kmaq of Prince Edward Island by Jesse Francis and A.J.B. Johnston, published by Acorn Press

11. PEI Book Award – Poetry (part of the Prince Edward Island Book Awards): The TWIG Collective – A Gathering of Twigs edited by P. Susan Buchanan and Margot Maddison-MacFadyen, published by TWiG Publications