Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing

Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing

Sponsored by Marquis

The Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing was established to recognize and promote literary achievement in the Social Sciences and Humanities fields – including, but not limited to, history, philosophy, religion, anthropology, regional studies, communication, cultural studies and linguistics – to be awarded each year in conjunction with the Atlantic Book Awards.

Sponsored by Marquis, the $500 prize will be awarded each year to the author(s) of a published book determined to have had (or likely to have) a significant literary, social and academic impact in the areas of the social sciences and humanities. Marquis also recognizes the impact of the Atlantic book awards and is pleased support the mission.


  1. Atlantic-Canada-authored titles published in English between December 2020 and November 2021, and widely available through bookstores and libraries.
  2. The book is deemed to make a contribution to a deeper understanding of society.
  3. Only non-fiction titles are eligible.
  4. Publishers are invited to nominate authors by submitting their books for consideration.
  5. Titles may be single-authored or co-authored. Books written by more than one person are eligible, but the prize money must be split among multiple authors. Multi-authored collections, anthologies and conference proceedings are not eligible.


  1. Authors must be either native or resident Atlantic Canadians. “Native” is defined as having been born and lived for a substantial portion of their lives in Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia or Prince Edward Island (or a combination of these provinces). “Resident” is defined as being a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant and having lived in the region for at least 24 months preceding the publication.
  2. A book, or title, is a work that has a minimum of 48 pages, carries an ISBN, is bound and is printed in an edition of no fewer than 300 copies, and be widely available through bookstores and libraries.
  3. A publisher is a company that carries out as its primary business the publishing of books. Such firms must have established terms of trade and have distribution in Canada.
  4. Non-fiction is understood to include well-crafted titles in the form of essays, memoirs, collected letters and diaries, criticism, history, biography and autobiography, among others.

Selection Criteria

  1. Significance and originality of the work
  2. The quality of the research
  3. The style and organization
  4. The quality of writing, accessible to a general reading audience

Submission instructions:

Note – one submission per publisher imprint.

Submission must include a statement as to the relevance of the submission to the award’s stated objectives and how it meets the selection criteria.

Deadline for submissions published in 2020-2021 is December 1, 2021. There is no submission fee.

Note: Please email a copy of the nomination form [available here] to:


Mail a hard copy of the nomination along with five copies of the book to:

The Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing

c/o Fernwood Publishing

32 Ocean Vista Lane

Black Point, NS            B0J 1B0